Speak at or Host an Event

ARCS® Foundation Northern California Chapter has a deep interest in science and plans events for the education of our members and their guests. We welcome suggestions for and offers of science-related speakers and tours. Please contact us at ncalifornia@arcsfoundation.org.

Past Speakers at the annual Scholar Awards Luncheon have been:

AMERICAN PACESETTER AWARD RECIPIENTS (leadership award in the scientific field)

2013 Lennart Mucke, M.D., Director, Gladstone Institute of Neurological Disease

2012  R. Sanders Williams, M.D., President of the Gladstone Institutes   

2009 Dr. Sally Benson, Director of Stanford University’s Global Climate & Energy Project (GCEP)

2008 Tim Ferris, Author

2007 Dr. Joseph L. DeRisi, Associate Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics, UCSF

2006 Susan Desmond-Hellmann, President, Product Development at Genentech, Inc.

2005 Dr. Zach W. Hall, President of the California Institute for Regenerative Medicine

2004 Robert C. Dynes, President, University of California

2003 Paul S. Otellini, President and COO, Intel Corporation

2002 George P. Shultz, Former U. S. Secretary of State

2000 John T. Chambers, President and CEO, Cisco Systems, Inc.



2015 Dr. Robert J. Birgeneau, Chancellor, University of California, Berkeley

2014 Dr. Michael Levitt,  Nobel Laureate, Chemistry

2014 Dr. Lucy Shapiro, 2014 National Medal of Science awardee, Stanford University

2010 Paul S. Otellini, President and COO, Intel Corporation

2005 Dr. Arno Penzias, Nobel Laureate

1999 Ralph Cavanagh, Co-Director, Energy Program Natural Resources Defense Council

1998 Chancellor M.R.C. Greenwood, University of California, Santa Cruz

1997 Dr. Roger von Oech

1996 Amory B. Lovins, Co-Founder, Rocky Mountain Institute

1995 Dr. Lloyd H. Smith, Jr., Chairman Department of Medicine, UCSF

1994 Dr. Leroy E. Hood, Molecular Biologist

1991 Mrs. Pete Wilson, First Lady of California

1990 Dr. Harold E. Varmus, 1989 Nobel Laureate, Medicine

1989 Ann Russell Miller, Founding President, ARCS NCC

1988 Dr. Millie Hughes-Fulford, Astronaut-Scientist, Spacelab Life Sciences, NASA

1987 Dr. Harry Wolf, Director, The Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton

1986 Dr. Paul Berg, 1980 Nobel Laureate, Chemistry

1985 Walter Cunningham, Former Astronaut

1984 Hanna Holborn Gray, President, University of Chicago

1983 Dr. Melvin Calvin, 1961 Nobel Laureate, Biology

1982 Dr. Arthur L. Schawlow, 1981 Nobel Laureate, Physics

1981 Dr. Luis W. Alvarez, 1968 Nobel Laureate, Physics

1980 Dr. James A. Van Allen, Astrophysicist

1979 Dr. Lee A DuBridge, President, Caltech

1978 Admiral Alan Shepard, Jr., Astronaut, First American in Space

1977 Dr. Burton Richter, 1976 Nobel Laureate, Physics

1976 Dr. Simon Ramo, Vice Chairman of the Board, TRW

1975 Dr. Edward Teller, Professor, University of California

1974 Dr. Dale L. Compton, Technical Assistant to the Director, Ames Research Ctr

1973 Nobel Laureates' Panel



Dr. Robert Corrigan, President, San Francisco State University

Dr. Patricia Gumport, Vice Provost for Graduate Education, Stanford University

Dr. George Breslauer, Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost, University of California, Berkeley

Dr. Linda Katehi, Chancellor, University of California, Davis

Dr. Jeffrey Bluestone, Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost, University of California, San Francisco

Dr. George Blumenthal, Chancellor, University of California, Santa Cruz



        Cathleen L. May, Department of Integrative Biology, University of California, Berkeley

        Marcos J. Montes, Department of Physics, Stanford University



        Staci A. Eldlund, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of California, Berkeley

        Todd K. Whitehurst, Department of Electrical Engineering, Stanford University